Closed WTB 8372A Agnus for A500 Rev 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

amigauser2009

New member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
May 23, 2009
Posts
10
Country
USA, WI
Just like the title says. I'd like the miggy to see the ram as all chip and not half/half.

If you could help I'd be looking to pay around $10-$15

I'm located in Milwaukee, WI USA.

Thanks!
 

gavilan

Amiga user & abuser since 1988
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
17   0   0
Joined
Dec 14, 2007
Posts
335
Country
Argentina
Region
Buenos Aires
Re: WTB 8372A Agnus for A500 Rev 5

Hi there!
Are you still interested?
I think i have one spare...yours just for shipping cost

Ask me again tomorrow and i will check in my house (im at girlfriend house ATM)

Sebastian
 

amigauser2009

New member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
May 23, 2009
Posts
10
Country
USA, WI
Re: WTB 8372A Agnus for A500 Rev 5

I'm still interested. Is it NTSC? Does it matter? If it's NTSC/doesn't matter I'll take it for sure.
 

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Rating - 100%
109   0   0
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Posts
10,337
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
Re: WTB 8372A Agnus for A500 Rev 5

Doesn't matter.

All 1Mb 8372(+ a letter) are PAL/NTSC agnostic.

It is just a matter of route the pin 41 to ground to have NTSC or route it to +5V to force PAL. Of course, already made on all A500 boards.
 

amigauser2009

New member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
May 23, 2009
Posts
10
Country
USA, WI
Re: WTB 8372A Agnus for A500 Rev 5

Hey again,

I'd rather not bump this thread but the original 8372A that had been sent never arrived.

If there's one still available please let me know as I'm still very much interested.
 

TheCorfiot

Out in the Wild
VIP
Rating - 100%
232   0   0
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Posts
8,698
Country
Greece
Region
Corfu
Re: WTB 8372A Agnus for A500 Rev 5

@AmigaUser

Can I enquire as to who sent the chip as there is no record on this thread as to anything having been sent or agreed to.. This leads to confusion especially when a Moderator such as I would like to step in and help things along but don't know where to start....

Good Thread Housekeeping helps everyone and is something we expect all members to uphold.
So Sebastian if we are due an update here then can we please have one, And I do ask "If" because I really am walking in the dark here. (n)

TC :popcorn:
 

amigauser2009

New member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
May 23, 2009
Posts
10
Country
USA, WI
Re: WTB 8372A Agnus for A500 Rev 5

Hello!

My apologies. The Agnus sent was from a different thread and through PM only. It was sent free of charge and I simply never received it which is why I chose to bump this thread.

If you still need the info I can PM it, if not then yeah, still looking for the Agnus!

Thanks much!
 

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Rating - 100%
30   0   0
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,849
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
Re: WTB 8372A Agnus for A500 Rev 5

I might have one. It's for an A500 you need one?

Let me look through my things this weekend, if I have one I'll send if for free to you.
 

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Rating - 100%
30   0   0
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,849
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
Re: WTB 8372A Agnus for A500 Rev 5

I have one 8375, part number 318069-16, this is an 1MB PAL. (for free)

I also have one 8375, pn 318069-11 which is an 2MB NTSC. ($15 + shipping)

And finally, a 8372, pn 318069-02 which is an 1MB PAL. (for free)

I have one more, but that one is my precious, an 2MB PAL Agnus the 8375 pn 318069-10. (an arm and a leg, plus an eye)

When you select one, I´ll test it and ask you for your address on PM if it seems to be in working order.
 

amigauser2009

New member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
May 23, 2009
Posts
10
Country
USA, WI
Re: WTB 8372A Agnus for A500 Rev 5

Hello!

I managed to acquire a 318069-02 locally but when I try using a few of my favorite games/utilities I get a guru message that states "Corrupted/modified graphics file", but it clearly is not corrupt as I use the disk on my other a500 all the time. The message appears about 4 out of 6 times.

I'm getting a little off topic now but would the other Agnus versions give me the same message as the 318069-02? If not I'll be more than happy to take one or two.

Thanks again guys!
 

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Rating - 100%
30   0   0
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,849
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
Re: WTB 8372A Agnus for A500 Rev 5

I think rkauer, TheCorfiot, Merlin, Kin Hell, Zetr0 or any of the other gurus which meditate here must answer that.

You can surely have two of them (the ones noted) for free off me. I'll stand by and let one of these gents here do the selection for you. :)
 

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Rating - 100%
30   0   0
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,849
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
Re: WTB 8372A Agnus for A500 Rev 5

Ps, I'm going on vaccation soon, and will be away for three or four weeks. It means that if I'm going to ship anything it has have to happen the first days this week.
 

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Rating - 100%
109   0   0
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Posts
10,337
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
Re: WTB 8372A Agnus for A500 Rev 5

The Agnus 318069-02 version is locked to PAL only, and this can be the problem you are experiencing if you are trying NTSC games.

The better Agnus you can have is 8372B, which is selectable as NTSC/PAL via hardware, pending the motherboard revision you have. Revision 5 will not accept a 8372A and up without a little hack. OK for 6.x boards, 8+ boards only accept 8375 Agnii.
 

save2600

New member
Rating - 100%
10   0   0
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Posts
90
Country
U.S.A.
Region
Wisconsin
Re: WTB 8372A Agnus for A500 Rev 5

rkauer said:
The Agnus 318069-02 version is locked to PAL only, and this can be the problem you are experiencing if you are trying NTSC games.

The better Agnus you can have is 8372B, which is selectable as NTSC/PAL via hardware, pending the motherboard revision you have. Revision 5 will not accept a 8372A and up without a little hack. OK for 6.x boards, 8+ boards only accept 8375 Agnii.

Don't mean to hijack, but I just put an 8372A 318069-02 NTSC Agnus in my A500 Rev. 5 motherboard and it works fine with no hack. Are you
talking about the 1mb chip ram hack? If so, yes: you cut a trace near the trapdoor or bend a pin up on Gary (your choice) AND change JP2 to
enable the trapdoor ram to work in conjunction with the chip ram in the A500 to equal 1mb chip. BUT... from my experience, the 8372A will work
fine with 512k and even switch between NTSC/PAL without modification. I was using Kickstart 3.1 btw. Don't know if that makes a difference at
all...
 

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Rating - 100%
109   0   0
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Posts
10,337
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
Re: WTB 8372A Agnus for A500 Rev 5

I mean you have cut address traces, as Save2600 pointed out.

And to be honest, I made more modifications to mine rev6 A600: I soldered the lacking memory chips on the mobo, then I had to modify the A501 traces and my A500 is now 1Mb chip + 512kb Fast (is not that fast, anyways).
 

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Rating - 100%
30   0   0
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,849
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
Re: WTB 8372A Agnus for A500 Rev 5

I can't speak for amigauser2009, but I'm not getting any smarter.

Can there be other components that gives him the problems he's got then with his *-02 chip?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom