ZX 48k Spectrum Display Problem

protek

"Takai desu ne." -"Jinsei da."
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Posts
4,001
Country
Finland
Region
Oulu, Pohjois-Pohjanmaa
You might want to measure voltages for the +5, -5 and +12 Volts pins on all the lower RAM chips. That'll give you pointers where to start looking for the probable cause.
 

Bryce

Active member
AmiBayer
Joined
Aug 21, 2012
Posts
2,586
Country
Germany
Region
Nordrhein Westfalen
As the Spectrum 48K tend to only have 3 extrememly common problems:

1 - Power circuitry - Check voltages as Protek suggests. If they are wrong then you need to swap 2 transistors.
2 - Lower RAM - Most likely your issue in this case - Replace lower RAM.
3 - ULA dead - Pretty unlikely.

Bryce.
 

protek

"Takai desu ne." -"Jinsei da."
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Posts
4,001
Country
Finland
Region
Oulu, Pohjois-Pohjanmaa
If it's a switching PSU pushing at least 1,5 Amps, you should be ok.
 

keitha

Member
AmiBayer
Joined
Feb 7, 2012
Posts
467
Country
Scotland
Region
Midlothian
You don't want that one. That one has positive center. You want one with negative center or switchable polarity.

Thank you for keeping me right :D

- - - Updated - - -

Appreciated

- - - Updated - - -

As the Spectrum 48K tend to only have 3 extrememly common problems:

1 - Power circuitry - Check voltages as Protek suggests. If they are wrong then you need to swap 2 transistors.
2 - Lower RAM - Most likely your issue in this case - Replace lower RAM.
3 - ULA dead - Pretty unlikely.

Bryce.
Thanks (y)
 

roy_bates

resistance is futile!
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Posts
8,387
Country
england
Region
birmingham
im curious.

why do you need a power supply if you managed to power it up to take that picture.

did you borrow the supply from another system?


im here if you never manage to find the problem.
could be cpu,rom,or memory,or combination of a couple of things.including a power problem.
 
Last edited:

keitha

Member
AmiBayer
Joined
Feb 7, 2012
Posts
467
Country
Scotland
Region
Midlothian
im curious.

why do you need a power supply if you managed to power it up to take that picture.

did you borrow the supply from another system?


im here if you never manage to find the problem.
could be cpu,rom,or memory,or combination of a couple of things.including a power problem.

My Sinclair PS is failing apart, and thought I'd ask about compatible replacements (glad I did)

Appreciate the offer (y)
 
Top Bottom